Our fears about Adulthood

The Teenage View
3 min readJan 26, 2024

What is adulthood?

Adulthood is basically a state of being fully grown and mature. Let’s talk about brain maturity. Although it can take 32 years for a woman to fully mature and 43 years for a man to do the same, the average brain maturity of a human being is 25. Which means you are only technically ready to be an actual adult at the age of 25, but according to most countries, you become a legal adult at the age of 18…yikes.

Why are we afraid of adulthood?

Being an adult requires a lot from you. You have to adjust to the new changes and responsibility. All of this can lead to you being overwhelmed.

Thato: As a teenager I feel like my fears about adulthood is not being able to depend on my parents to do things for me and my fear is that when I am grown up (which is only in a few in a few years), I won’t be ready because I’m so dependent on my parents to handle scary situations like being called up to the office over a misunderstood situation. Basically my fear is that I won’t be ready to be an adult when I am an adult. I won’t have experienced the phases that prepare me to be an adult. That’s why I’m grateful for every situation that moulds me and teaches me to grow to be a better person .

Lethukuthula: Honestly I believe no amount of preparation could prepare me for what is yet to come. That is what scares me. Even if I were to plan every single day of my life, I don’t think it could prepare me enough for what adulthood has in store for me. I think that is how life works. Personally though… I’m still going to plan.

Karabo: Settling down, marrying and having kids is terrifying. Getting married seems nice but imagine having to raise a child. What if I mess up or what if I’m a bad parent? What if my child ends up hating me? Adulthood isn’t always bright, it can be quite confusing to many of us but it’s learning to love yourself. That’s the best thing to do.

The Perks of becoming an adult

You can literally do whatever you want and become whoever you want. If you want to start a business and do acting as your side job. Then do it! When you start working you get your own income and you are able to build your own financial stability and security. Also, not to mention the freedom. What do you mean I can go out at 2 am to buy fast food. Amazing

Advice for teenagers

Don’t grow up too fast, believe it or not. You DO have all the time in the world. By this we mean that you still have time to figure things out. Do not procrastinate once you do.

Put yourself out there. You learn so many opportunities that help you become an adult.

Don’t be scared of adults, your parents went through it and survived. It cannot be THAT bad.

Expect surprises, life is a bumpy road, as you may have learnt by now. Eventually you’ll learn to drive on it. Not everything will go as you had planned.

Learn new skills. In time those skills can become an asset and you could learn to make money from it. Have fun, YOLO.

Actually.. Just don’t grow up.

Reminder: We are walking through this path of life together, you’re not alone in this and we should take the opportunity of being a teenager to grow and put ourselves out there. Responsibly of course…

--

--